Equipe Marsicano

Endocannabinoids and Neuroadaptation

Principal investigator: Giovanni Marsicano, VD, PhD.


L'equipe de Giovanni Marsicano

The scientific objective of our team is to understand how the expression of the endocannabinoid system (SEC) in various neuronal types regulates differently the implementation of specific brain functions. ESA in the brain includes CB1 receptors, their endogenous lipid ligands, endocannabinoids (mainly arachidonoyl-ethanolamine, AEA, and 2-arachidonoyl-glycerol, 2-AG), and their synthesis and grading machinery.

The major consequence of the activation of CB1 receptors is the decrease in neuronal excitability and the reduction in the pre-synaptic release of the neurotransmitter. Since CB1 receivers are expressed on GABAergic and glutamatergic terminations where they negatively control inhibitory and excitatory transmissions, the location of these receivers could confer different or even opposite functions on the SEC on neuronal activity and behaviour. To understand the specific role of CB1 receptors in each neuronal population (inhibitory or exciting), we have developed advanced genetic tools that have allowed the conditional development of CB1 receptors from specific neuronal populations. Using these tools, we were able to study the consequences of the conditional delegation of CB1 receptors from GABAergic neurons or cortical glutamatergic neurons.

In recent years, we have obtained results that suggest the innovative idea that the SEC performs different functions according to the identity of the neural population in which CB1 receptors are expressed. Thus, CB1 receptors potted by glutamatergic cortical neurons are directly responsible for the classic neuroprotective and orexia functions attributed to the SEC and CB1 receptor agonists. Surprisingly, these functions are independent of the abundant expression of CB1 receptors in GABAergic neurons, the latter being unexpectedly at the origin of pro-ophobic and anorexigenic functions of the SEC.

These results, which provide new insight into the functional role of the SEC, are the basis for interesting publications. They are the cement on which we base our future plans to disseminate this polymodal action of the ESA and its functional impacts.



Team members



Giovanni MARSICANO
Team leader

Luigi BELLOCCHIO
Researcher

Francis CHAOULOFF
Researcher

Federico MASSA
Researcher

Egaña JON
Guest researcher

Carlos VICENTE GUTIÉRREZ
Guest researcher

Julien ARTINIAN
ITA

Astrid CANNICH
ITA

Paula GOMEZ SOTRES
ITA

Francisca JULIO
ITA

Virginie MORALES
ITA

Marjorie VARILH
ITA

Arnau BUSQUETS-GARCIA
Post Doc

José CRUZ
Post Doc

Ignacio FERNANDEZ MONCADA
Post Doc

Nuria MASACHS JANOHER
Post Doc

Maria Carmen MEDRANO
Post Doc

Su MELSER
Post Doc

Antonio PAGANO-ZOTTOLA
Post Doc

Laurie ROBIN
Post Doc

Urszula SKUPIO
Post Doc

Geoffrey TERRAL
Post Doc

Imane HUREL
PhD

Christina IOANNIDOU
PhD

Gianluca LAVANCO
PhD

Yamuna MARIANI
PhD

Alvaro MORENO
PhD

Bastien REDON
PhD

Zhe ZHAO
PhD

Emma MESGUICH
Intern

Equipe Marsicano

Endocannabinoïdes et Neuroadaptation

Chef d'équipe: Giovanni Marsicano.


L'equipe de Giovanni Marsicano

L'objectif scientifique de notre équipe est de comprendre comment l'expression du système endocannabinoïde (SEC) dans divers types neuronaux régle de manière différente la mise en oeuvre de fonctions cérébrales spécifiques. Le SEC dans le cerveau comprend les récepteurs CB1, leurs ligands lipidiques endogènes, les endocannabinoïdes (principalement l'arachidonoyl-ethanolamine, AEA, et le 2-arachidonoyl-glycerol, 2-AG), et leur machinerie de synthèse et de dégradation.

La conséquence majeure de l'activation des récepteurs CB1 est la diminution de l'excitabilité neuronale et la réduction de la libération présynaptique du neurotransmetteur. Les récepteurs CB1 étant exprimés sur les terminaisons GABAergiques et glutamatergiques où ils contrôlent négativement les transmissions inhibitrices et excitatrices, la localisation de ces récepteurs pourrait conférer au SEC des fonctions différentes, voire opposées, sur l'activité neuronale et le comportement. Pour comprendre le rôle spécifique des récepteurs CB1 au sein de chaque population neuronale (inhibitrice ou excitatrice), nous avons développé des outils génétiques avancés qui ont permis la délétion conditionnelle des récepteurs CB1 de populations neuronales spécifiques. A l'aide de ces outils, nous avons ainsi pu étudier les conséquences de la délétion conditionnelle des récepteurs CB1 des neurones GABAergiques ou des neurones glutamatergiques corticaux.

Ces dernières années, nous avons obtenu des résultats permettant d'avancer l'idée novatrice que le SEC exerce différentes fonctions selon l'identité de la population neuronale dans laquelle sont exprimés les récepteurs CB1. Ainsi, les récepteurs CB1 potés par les neurones corticaux glutamatergiques sont directement responsables des fonctions classiques de neuroprotection et d'orexie attribuées au SEC et aux agonistes des récepteurs CB1. De manière surprenante, ces fonctions sont indépendantes de l'expression abondante de récepteurs CB1 dans les neurones GABAergiques, ces derniers étant, de manière inattendue, à l'origine de fonctions pro-néophobiques et anorexigènes du SEC.

Ces résultats, qui apportent un nouvel éclairage sur le rôle fonctionnel du SEC, sont à l'origine de publications d'intérêt. Ils constituent le ciment sur lequel nous basons nos projets futurs visant à disséquer cette action polymodale du SEC et ses répercussions fonctionnelles.



Les membres de l'équipe



Giovanni MARSICANO
Responsable d'équipe

Luigi BELLOCCHIO
Chercheur

Francis CHAOULOFF
Chercheur

Federico MASSA
Chercheur

Egaña JON
Chercheur Invite

Carlos VICENTE GUTIÉRREZ
Chercheur Invite

Julien ARTINIAN
ITA

Astrid CANNICH
ITA

Paula GOMEZ SOTRES
ITA

Francisca JULIO
ITA

Virginie MORALES
ITA

Marjorie VARILH
ITA

Arnau BUSQUETS-GARCIA
Post-Doctorant

José CRUZ
Post-Doctorant

Ignacio FERNANDEZ MONCADA
Post-Doctorant

Nuria MASACHS JANOHER
Post-Doctorant

Maria Carmen MEDRANO
Post-Doctorant

Su MELSER
Post-Doctorant

Antonio PAGANO-ZOTTOLA
Post-Doctorant

Laurie ROBIN
Post-Doctorant

Urszula SKUPIO
Post-Doctorant

Geoffrey TERRAL
Post-Doctorant

Imane HUREL
Doctorant

Christina IOANNIDOU
Doctorant

Gianluca LAVANCO
Doctorant

Yamuna MARIANI
Doctorant

Alvaro MORENO
Doctorant

Bastien REDON
Doctorant

Zhe ZHAO
Doctorant

Emma MESGUICH
Stagiaire