Neurocentre Magendie

Team News



Sort by


PhD/HDR defense
09/12/2019 14h00
Zhe ZHAO from Marsicano's lab will give a presentation entitled 'Role of the type-1 cannabinoid receptor in the control of water intake.'
2019-12-09 14:00:00 2019-12-09 16:00:00 Europe/Paris Zhe ZHAO from Marsicano's lab will give a presentation entitled 'Role of the type-1 cannabinoid receptor in the control of water intake.' 0


Role of the type-1 cannabinoid receptor in the control of water intake
Thesis supervisor: Giovanni MARSICANO PhD

Water intake is crucial for maintaining body fluid homeostasis and animals’ survival. Complex brain processes trigger thirst, which arises upon losing blood volume (i.e. extracellular dehydration) or increasing blood osmolality (i.e. intracellular dehydration), to replenish water for fluid balance. The brain plays a key role in modulating these processes, but the central mechanisms regulating water intake are not fully understood. Type-1 cannabinoid receptors (CB1) are widely and abundantly expressed in the central nervous system where they modulate a variety of functions, such as memory, anxiety and feeding behavior. However, the role of CB1 receptors in the control of water intake is still a matter of debate, since pharmacological activation or blockade of CB1 receptors produced contradictory results in drinking behavior experiments.
My thesis work focuses on the role of CB1 receptors in the control of water intake. By using genetic, pharmacological, anatomical, imaging, and behavioral approaches, I examined the involvement of CB1 receptors in the control of water intake induced by different physiological conditions of extracellular or intracellular dehydration. The results showed that CB1 receptor signaling is required to promote water intake. In particular, global deletion of CB1 receptors does not change plasma osmolality and body water composition, but it decreases water intake induced by water deprivation, systemic or intracerebroventricular (ICV) administration of sodium chloride, or ICV injection of the peptide hormone angiotensin II. In the attempt to better detail the neuronal mechanisms of this function, I discovered that the presence of CB1 receptors in cortical glutamatergic neurons, particularly the ones located in the anterior cingulate cortex (ACC) glutamatergic neurons promote drinking behavior. CB1 receptors are abundantly expressed in axon terminal of ACC glutamatergic neurons projecting to the basolateral amygdala (BLA) and selective expression of CB1 receptors in this circuit is sufficient to guarantee proper drinking behavior in mice. Altogether, these data reveal that CB1 receptors are necessary to promote water intake, and that their presence in the ACC-BLA circuit is sufficient for the top-down control of drinking behavior.
Furthermore, I also provided evidence that CB1 controls water intake in different conditions at other levels, e.g. insular cortex, cholinergic cells, and mitochondria.
In summary, my thesis work analyzed the role of CB1 receptors in distinct cell populations/neuronal circuits for the control of water intake. These results will help further understanding the functions of the ECS and the brain regulation of thirst.

Date de la soutenance: 09/12/2019 - 14h00
Lieu: Centre Broca Nouvelle-Aquitaine Conference Room


Hottopic
30/10/2019 10h00
Antonio PAGANO-ZOTTOLA from Marsicano's lab will give a presentation entitled ' Melatonin Receptor 1, a new partner for CB1 receptor in mitochondria.'


mTORC1 and CB1 receptor signaling regulate excitatory glutamatergic inputs onto the hypothalamic paraventricular nucleus in response to energy availability

Wilfrid Mazier, Nicolas Saucisse, Vincent Simon, Astrid Cannich, Giovanni Marsicano, Federico Massa & Daniela Cota




Seminars
10/10/2019 18h30
Francis Chaouloff

Meeting room: Auditorium Médiathèque Jacques Ellul – Pessac

from Marsicano's lab will give a presentation entitled 'Sport : quand la motivation dépasse la raison'




Recent work has shown that these receptors are also present in the mitochondrial membranes of the brain where they regulate the bioenergetic processes and amnesic effects of cannabinoids. Thus, the pharmacological effects of cannabinoids derived from cannabis are partially dependent on the regulation of cerebral mitochondrial activity.





CB1 receptors in the anterior piriform cortex control odor preference memory
Geoffrey Terral1,2, Arnau Busquets-Garcia1,2, Marjorie Varilh1,2, Svein Achicallende3,4, Astrid Cannich1,2, Luigi Bellocchio1,2, Itziar Bonilla-Del Río3,4, Federico Massa1,2, Nagore Puente3,4, Edgar Soria-Gomez1,2,3,4,5, Pedro Grandes3,4, Guillaume Ferreira2,6,* & Giovanni Marsicano1,2,*





Giovanni Marsicano is member of the prestigious EMBO, European Molecular Biology Organization. The EMBO Election is a recognition of the research excellence and outstanding achievements of a life sciences researcher.





The competition of the SVS doctoral school of the University of Bordeaux has given its verdict: the Neurocentre gleaned 4 of the 16 doctoral contracts. Congratulations to Mohamed-Lyès KACI (Eq. Abrous, Thesis Director Muriel Koehl) who ranks 5th, Emma MESGUICH (Eq. Marsicano, Thesis Director France Chaouloff) who ranks 7th, Pierre-Louis RAUX (Eq. Revest, Thesis Director Monique Vallée) who ranks 11th and Yifan WU (Eq. Beyeler) who ranks 17th. They will join the centre's teams from next school year.




Hottopic
24/04/2019 10h30
Bastien REDON from Marsicano's lab will give a presentation entitled ""Role of the endocannabinoid system in motivation for wheel running and palatable food"

Hottopic
27/02/2019 11h00
Zhe ZHAO from Marsicano's lab will give a presentation entitled “Role of the cannabinoid receptor type 1 in the control of water intake”.

Neurocentre Magendie

Les actualités de l'équipe



Afficher par type


Soutenance
09/12/2019 14h00
Zhe ZHAO from Marsicano's lab will give a presentation entitled 'Role of the type-1 cannabinoid receptor in the control of water intake.' Le role de recepteur des cannabinoides de type 1 dans la consommation d'eau.
2019-12-09 14:00:00 2019-12-09 16:00:00 Europe/Paris Zhe ZHAO from Marsicano's lab will give a presentation entitled 'Role of the type-1 cannabinoid receptor in the control of water intake.' 0

Le role de recepteur des cannabinoides de type 1 dans la consommation d'eau.
Nom du directeur de thèse: Giovanni MARSICANO PhD

L’apport hydrique est crucial pour le maintien homéostatique des fluides corporels et pour la survie de l’animal. Des processus cérébraux complexes déclenchent la soif, qui survient suite à une perte de volume sanguin (déshydratation extracellulaire) ou une augmentation de l’osmolalité sanguine (déshydratation intracellulaire), afin d’apporter de l’eau pour l’équilibre des fluides. Cependant, les mécanismes centraux favorisant la prise hydrique sont encore peu caractérisés. Les récepteurs aux cannabinoïdes de type 1 (CB1) sont exprimés de manière large et abondante dans le système nerveux central où ils modulent une variété de fonctions telles que la mémoire, l’anxiété et les comportements alimentaires. Cependant, le rôle des récepteurs CB1 dans le contrôle de l’apport hydrique est encore matière à débat du fait de résultats contradictoires d’expériences d’activation ou de blocage pharmacologique de ces récepteurs sur les comportements de consommation d’eau.
Mon travail de thèse s’est concentré sur le rôle des récepteurs CB1 dans le contrôle de l’apport hydrique. Par l’utilisation d’approches génétiques, pharmacologiques, comportementales et de traçage neuronal, j’ai examiné l’implication des récepteurs CB1 dans le contrôle de l’apport hydrique induit par différentes conditions physiologiques de déshydratation extra- et intracellulaire. Les résultats montrent que la signalisation du récepteur CB1 est requise pour promouvoir l’apport hydrique. En particulier, la délétion globale du récepteur CB1 ne change pas l’osmolalité plasmatique ni la composition corporelle en eau, mais elle diminue l’apport hydrique induit par une privation d’eau, une administration systémique ou intracérébroventriculaire (ICV) de chlorure de sodium ou une injection ICV de l’hormone peptidergique angiotensine II. Dans le but de mieux décrire les mécanismes neuronaux de cette fonction, j’ai découvert que la présence des récepteurs CB1 dans les neurones glutamatergiques corticaux, en particulier ceux présents dans le cortex cingulaire antérieur (CCA) favorisent le comportement de consommation d’eau. En effet, les récepteurs CB1 sont exprimés abondamment dans les terminaisons axonales des neurones glutamatergiques du CCA projetant sur l’amygdale basolatérale (ABL) et une réexpression sélective des récepteurs CB1 dans ce circuit est suffisante pour garantir un comportement de consommation d’eau normal chez la souris. Dans l’ensemble, ces données révèlent que les récepteurs CB1 sont nécessaires pour promouvoir l’apport hydrique, et que leur présence dans le circuit CCA-ABL est suffisant pour le contrôle descendant des comportements de consommation d’eau.
De plus, j’ai également montré que les récepteurs CB1 contrôlaient l’apport hydrique dans différentes conditions à d’autres niveaux comme au niveau du cortex insulaire, des cellules cholinergiques et des mitochondries.
En résumé, mon travail de thèse a analysé le rôle des récepteurs CB1 dans des populations cellulaires / circuits neuronaux distincts dans le contrôle de l’apport hydrique. Ces résultats apportent de plus amples preuves permettant la compréhension des fonctions du système endocannabinoïde et de la régulation cérébrale de la soif.

Date de la soutenance: 09/12/2019 - 14h00
Lieu: Centre Broca Nouvelle-Aquitaine Conference Room


Hottopic
30/10/2019 10h00
Antonio PAGANO-ZOTTOLA from Marsicano's lab will give a presentation entitled ' Melatonin Receptor 1, a new partner for CB1 receptor in mitochondria.'


mTORC1 and CB1 receptor signaling regulate excitatory glutamatergic inputs onto the hypothalamic paraventricular nucleus in response to energy availability

Wilfrid Mazier, Nicolas Saucisse, Vincent Simon, Astrid Cannich, Giovanni Marsicano, Federico Massa & Daniela Cota




Séminaire
10/10/2019 18h30
Francis Chaouloff

Meeting room: Auditorium Médiathèque Jacques Ellul – Pessac

from Marsicano's lab will give a presentation entitled 'Sport : quand la motivation dépasse la raison'




Les Trophées « Talents U » seront remis lors de la soirée de rentrée, qui se déroulera mardi 17 septembre à partir de 17h au Domaine du Haut-Carré à Talence.

L'équipe Marsicano a été sélectionnés parmi les sept projets retenus dans la catégorie « Recherche et innovation ».

Les cannabinoides et la régulation bioénergétique

Un nouveau cadre pour étudier la régulation comportementale
Par Marsicano Giovanni, chef d’équipe Endocannabinoïdes et Neuroadaptation – Neurocentre Magendie

L’activité cérébrale dépend essentiellement du soutien énergétique élevé fourni par les mitochondries, véritable centrales énergétiques des cellules. Pourtant, l’impact de la modulation physiologique de l’activité mitochondriale sur les fonctions cérébrales est presque inconnu. Ce projet, financé par l’ERC Advanced Grants a l’ambition de comprendre l’impact de la régulation des processus bioénergétiques sur les fonctions cérébrales, déterminant ainsi un nouveau cadre pour l’étude de la régulation comportementale.

Les récepteurs cannabinoïdes de type 1 (CB1) sont des régulateurs importants du comportement.
De récent travaux ont démontrés que ces récepteurs sont également présent dans les membranes mitochondriales du cerveau où ils régulent les processus bioénergétiques et les effets amnésiques des cannabinoïdes. Ainsi, les effets pharmacologiques des cannabinoïdes dérivés du cannabis dépendent partiellement de la régulation de l’activité mitochondrial cérébrale.





CB1 receptors in the anterior piriform cortex control odor preference memory
Geoffrey Terral1,2, Arnau Busquets-Garcia1,2, Marjorie Varilh1,2, Svein Achicallende3,4, Astrid Cannich1,2, Luigi Bellocchio1,2, Itziar Bonilla-Del Río3,4, Federico Massa1,2, Nagore Puente3,4, Edgar Soria-Gomez1,2,3,4,5, Pedro Grandes3,4, Guillaume Ferreira2,6,* & Giovanni Marsicano1,2,*





Giovanni Marsicano est élu membre de la prestigieuse EMBO, European Molecular Biology Organization. L'élection à l'EMBO est une reconnaissance de l'excellence en recherche et des réalisations exceptionnelles d'un chercheur en sciences de la vie.





Le concours de l’école doctorale SVS de l’Université de Bordeaux a rendu son verdict : le Neurocentre glane 4 des 16 contrats doctoraux. Bravo à Mohamed-Lyès KACI (Éq. Abrous, Dir de thèse Muriel Koehl) qui se classe 5ème, Emma MESGUICH (Éq. Marsicano, Dir de thèse France Chaouloff) qui se classe 7ème, Pierre-Louis RAUX (Éq. Revest, Dir de thèse Monique Vallée) qui se classe 11ème et Yifan WU (Éq. Beyeler) qui se classe 17ème. Ils intégreront les équipes du centre dès la rentrée prochaine.




Hottopic
24/04/2019 10h30
Bastien REDON from Marsicano's lab will give a presentation entitled ""Role of the endocannabinoid system in motivation for wheel running and palatable food"

Hottopic
27/02/2019 11h00
Zhe ZHAO from Marsicano's lab will give a presentation entitled “Role of the cannabinoid receptor type 1 in the control of water intake”.