Neurocentre Magendie

Team News



Sort by



Hottopic
27/05/2020 10h00
Misa Arizono from Oliet's lab will give a presentation entitled 'Structural basis of astrocytic Ca2+ signals at tripartite synapses'


Scientists from the Laboratory of Neurodegenerative Diseases (CNRS/CEA/University of Paris-Saclay) and the Neurocentre Magendie (Inserm/University of Bordeaux) have just highlighted the decisive role played by a metabolic pathway in memory impairment in Alzheimer's disease. Their work, to be published on 3 March 2020 in Cell Metabolism, also shows that a particular amino acid intake, in the form of a dietary supplement, restores the spatial memory affected early in mice models of the disease. This is a promising avenue for alleviating Alzheimer's-related memory loss.


Impairment of Glycolysis-Derived L-Serine Production in Astrocytes Contributes to Cognitive Deficits in Alzheimer’s Disease. Juliette Le Douce, Marianne Maugard, Julien Veran, Marco Matos, Pierrick Jégo, Pierre-Antoine Vigneron, Emilie Faivre, Xavier Toussay,Michel Vandenberghe, Yaël Balbastre, Juliette Piquet, Elvire Guiot, Nguyet Thuy Tran, Myriam Taverna, Stéphane Marinesco, Ayumi Koyanagi, Shigeki Furuya, Mylène Gaudin-Guerif, Sébastien Goutal, Aurélie Ghettas, Alain Pruvost, Alexis-Pierre Bemelmans, Marie-Claude Gaillard, Karine Cambon, Lev Stimmer, Véronique Sazdovitch, Charles Duyckaerts, Graham Knott, Anne-Sophie Hérard, Thierry Delzescaux, Philippe Hantraye, Emmanuel Brouillet, Bruno Cauli, Stéphane H.R. Oliet, Aude Panatier et Gilles Bonvento. Cell Metabolism, le 3 mars 2020. DOI : 10.1016/j.cmet.2020.02.004
https://www.cell.com/cell-metabolism/fulltext/S1550-4131(20)30063-2






Hottopic
27/11/2019 10h30
Ismail KOUBIYR from Oliet's lab will give a presentation entitled ' The reorganization of human brain networks in the early stage of multiple sclerosis.'

PhD/HDR defense
23/09/2019 14h00
HDR Aude Panatier The astrocyte, an intimate partner of neurons.

The astrocyte, an intimate partner of neurons.

After obtaining a bachelor's and master's degree in Cellular Biology and Physiology at the University of Bordeaux 2, I realized that understanding how synapses work is a key element in understanding how information is transmitted in the brain. In September 2002, I joined Dr. Dominique Poulain's laboratory (INSERM 378, Morphofunctional Neurobiology unit) to do my DEA internship in Neurosciences and Neuropharmacology, under the supervision of Dr. Stéphane Oliet. This laboratory mainly worked on the plasticity of a neuroendocrine system, the hypothalmo-neuro-pituitary system, involved in several essential functions for our body. During my DEA, I characterized the subtype of metabotropic glutamate receptor involved in regulating the efficacy of glutamatergic and GABAergic synaptic transmission in the supraoptic nucleus.

Very quickly, in contact with Dr. Stéphane Oliet and Dr. Dionysia Theodosis, I realized that to better understand brain transmission, it was necessary to integrate a partner who was previously ignored: the astrocyte. I therefore decided to do my thesis (September 2003 - December 2006) under the supervision of Dr. Stéphane Oliet. First, we demonstrated that the efficacy of glutamatergic synaptic transmission can be increased or decreased persistently in the supra-optic nucleus, as is the case in other structures such as the hippocampus. These long-term synaptic plasticity phenomena are dependent on the activation of NMDA-type postsynaptic glutamatergic receptors. Activation of NMDA receptors requires the concomitant binding of two ligands, glutamate at the glutamate binding site and a coagonist, glycine or D-serine, at the glycine binding site. We have shown that D-serine, synthesized by astrocytes of the supraoptic nucleus, is the only endogenous ligand of the NMDA receptor glycine site in this structure in adults. Our work has shown that astrocytes, by releasing D-serine, control the activity of NMDA receptors and therefore long-term synaptic plasticity.

At the end of my thesis, the classical vision stipulated that astrocytes were able to detect synaptic activity only when it was important and involved the simultaneous activation of several synapses. However, as I showed during my doctoral work that astrocytes control the activity of NMDA receptors under conditions of basal synaptic transmission, at the end of my thesis I was convinced that communication between astrocytes and neurons could be done in response to very low levels of synaptic activity. In January 2007, I joined the laboratory of Professor Richard Robitaille, of the University of Montreal (Montreal, Canada), one of the international leaders in the field of interactions between neurons and glial cells. The work I did under his direction revealed for the first time that astrocytes were able to detect the activity of individual synapses and modulate their functions in return.

In order to better understand the role of astrocytes in synaptic transmission, we need to better understand the morphological interaction of the astrocyte element with the neural elements of the synapse. It is to answer this problem that I carried out a last year of post-doctoral studies (June 2011-September 2012) in the teams of Dr. Stéphane Oliet (Neurocentre Magendie) and Professor Valentin Nägerl (IINS, Bordeaux), a specialist in super-resolution microscopy (STED).

In October 2012, I was recruited from the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, in the Glie-neurone Relations group headed by Dr. Stéphane Oliet, at the Neurocentre Magendie. The aim of my work is to better understand how an astrocyte, in close interaction with more than 100,000 synapses, is able to adequately regulate all the synapses with which it interacts. In addition, on the basis of this work I am trying to understand whether a modification of the astrocyte-neurone interaction would be involved in certain brain pathologies.


Jury
Mrs Nathalie ROUACH, DR INSERM, Collège de France, Paris (Rapporteur)
Mr Richard ROBITAILLE, Professor, Université de Montréal, Montreal, Candada (Rapporteur)
Mr Luc PELLERIN, Associate Professor, University of Lausanne, Switzerland (Rapporteur)
Mr. Charles BOURQUE, Professor, McGill University, Canada (Examiner)
Mr. Etienne AUDINAT, DR CNRS, Institut de genénomique fonctionnelle, Montpellier (Examiner)
Mr Stéphane OLIET, DR CNRS, Neurocentre Magendie, Bordeaux (Examiner)

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator
Date de la soutenance: 23/09/2019 - 14h00
Lieu: Neurocentre Magendie Seminar room


PhD/HDR defense
17/09/2019 14h30
Ismail KOUBIYR from Stephane Oliet's lab will give a presentation entitled 'Using brain connectivity to unravel cognitive mechanisms in neurological disorders'

from Stephane Oliet's lab will give a presentation entitled 'Using brain connectivity to unravel cognitive mechanisms in neurological disorders'
Date de la soutenance: 17/09/2019 - 14h30
Lieu: salle "module 2.6” (Bâtiment du CROUS)

Pour plus de détails: https://www.bordeaux-neurocampus.fr/event/soutenance-de-these-ismail-koubiyr/


PhD/HDR defense
20/06/2019 14h30
Dylan POMMIER from Oliet's lab will give a presentation entitled "L’astrocyte, intégrateur et régulateur de l’activité synaptique excitatrice dans des conditions physiologiques et pathologiques"

from Oliet's lab will give a presentation entitled "L’astrocyte, intégrateur et régulateur de l’activité synaptique excitatrice dans des conditions physiologiques et pathologiques"
Date de la soutenance: 20/06/2019 - 14h30
Lieu: Neurocentre Magendie Seminar room


Hottopic
24/04/2019 10h00
Julien BOUREL from Oliet's lab will give a presentation entitled " "Role of the complement component C3 in memory deficits at the early stage of experimental multiple sclerosis"

Neurocentre Magendie

Les actualités de l'équipe



Afficher par type


Hottopic
27/11/2019 10h30
Ismail KOUBIYR from Oliet's lab will give a presentation entitled " To Be Announced"
2019-11-27 10:30:00 2019-11-27 11:30:00 Europe/Paris Ismail KOUBIYR 0

Soutenance
23/09/2019 14h00
HDR Aude Panatier L’astrocyte, un partenaire intime des neurones.

L’astrocyte, un partenaire intime des neurones.

Après avoir obtenu une licence et une maîtrise de Biologie Cellulaire et Physiologie à l’Université Bordeaux 2, j’ai réalisé que la compréhension du fonctionnement des synapses était un élément clé pour figurer comment l’information est transmise dans le cerveau. J’ai donc intégré en Septembre 2002 le laboratoire du Dr. Dominique Poulain (unité INSERM 378, Neurobiologie Morphofonctionnelle) afin d’y réaliser mon stage de DEA en Neurosciences et Neuropharmacologie, sous la supervision du Dr. Stéphane Oliet. Ce laboratoire travaillait principalement sur la plasticité d’un système neuroendocrinien, le système hypothalmo-neurohypophysaire, impliqué dans plusieurs fonctions essentielles pour notre organisme. Au cours de mon DEA, j’ai caractérisé le sous type de récepteur métabotropique du glutamate impliqué dans la régulation de l’efficacité de la transmission synaptique glutamatergique et GABAergique dans le noyau supraoptique.

Très rapidement, au contact du Dr. Stéphane Oliet et du Dr. Dionysia Theodosis, j’ai réalisé que pour mieux appréhender la transmission cérébrale, il fallait intégrer un partenaire qui était jusque-là ignoré : l’astrocyte. J’ai donc décidé de réaliser ma thèse (Septembre 2003- Décembre 2006) sous la direction du Dr. Stéphane Oliet. Nous avons tout d’abord démontré que l’efficacité de la transmission synaptique glutamatergique pouvait être augmentée ou diminuée de manière persistante dans le noyau supraoptique, comme c’est le cas dans d’autres structures comme l’hippocampe. Ces phénomènes de plasticité synaptique à long terme sont dépendants de l’activation des récepteurs postsynaptiques glutamatergiques de type NMDA. L’activation des récepteurs NMDA requiert la liaison concomitante de deux ligands, le glutamate sur le site de liaison du glutamate et un coagoniste, la glycine ou la D-sérine, sur le site de liaison glycine. Nous avons montré que la D-sérine, synthétisée par les astrocytes du noyau supraoptique était le seul ligand endogène du site glycine des récepteurs NMDA dans cette structure chez l’adulte. Nos travaux ont ainsi permis de démontrer que les astrocytes, en libérant la D-sérine, contrôlent l’activité des récepteurs NMDA et par conséquent la plasticité synaptique à long terme.

A la fin de ma Thèse, la vision classique stipulait que les astrocytes étaient capables de détecter l’activité synaptique uniquement lorsque celle-ci était importante et impliquait l’activation simultanée de plusieurs synapses. Cependant, comme j’ai montré au cours de mes travaux de doctorat que les astrocytes contrôlaient l’activité des récepteurs NMDA dans des conditions de transmission synaptique basale, à la fin de ma thèse j’étais convaincue que la communication entre les astrocytes et neurones pouvait se faire en réponse à des niveaux d’activité synaptique très faibles. En Janvier 2007, j’ai donc intégré le laboratoire du Pr. Richard Robitaille, de l’Université de Montréal (Montréal, Canada), un des leaders internationaux dans le domaine des interactions entre les neurones et les cellules gliales. Les travaux que j’ai réalisés sous sa direction ont permis de révéler pour la première fois que les astrocytes étaient capables de détecter l’activité de synapses individuelles et de moduler en retour leurs fonctions.

Afin de mieux comprendre le rôle des astrocytes dans la transmission synaptique, nous devons mieux apprécier l’interaction morphologique de l’élément astrocytaire avec les éléments neuronaux de la synapse. C’est pour répondre à cette problématique que j’ai réalisé une dernière année de post-doctorat (Juin 2011- Septembre 2012) dans les équipes du Dr. Stéphane Oliet (Neurocentre Magendie) et du Pr. Valentin Nägerl (IINS, Bordeaux), un spécialiste de la microscopie super-résolutive (STED).

En Octobre 2012, j’ai été recrutée au sein du Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, dans le groupe Relations glie-neurone dirigé par le Dr. Stéphane Oliet, au Neurocentre Magendie. Le but de mes travaux est de mieux comprendre comment un astrocyte, en interaction étroite avec plus de 100 000 synapses, est capable de réguler de manière adaptée toutes les synapses avec lesquelles il interagit. De plus, sur la base de ces travaux j’essaie de comprendre si une modification de l’interaction astrocyte-neurone serait impliquée dans certaines pathologies du cerveau.


Jury
Mme Nathalie ROUACH, DR INSERM, Collège de France, Paris (Rapporteur)
M. Richard ROBITAILLE, Professeur, Université de Montréal, Montréal, Candada (Rapporteur)
M. Luc PELLERIN, Professeur associé, Université de Lausanne, Suisse (Rapporteur)
M. Charles BOURQUE, Professeur, McGill University, Canada (Examinateur)
M. Etienne AUDINAT, DR CNRS, Institut de génomique fonctionnelle, Montpellier (Examinateur)
M. Stéphane OLIET, DR CNRS, Neurocentre Magendie, Bordeaux (Examinateur)
Date de la soutenance: 23/09/2019 - 14h00
Lieu: Neurocentre Magendie Seminar room


Soutenance
17/09/2019 14h30
Ismail KOUBIYR Réorganisation des réseaux cérébraux dans les stades précoces de la sclérose en plaques

Réorganisation des réseaux cérébraux dans les stades précoces de la sclérose en plaques
Date de la soutenance: 17/09/2019 - 14h30
Lieu: salle "module 2.6” (Bâtiment du CROUS)

Pour plus de détails: https://www.bordeaux-neurocampus.fr/event/soutenance-de-these-ismail-koubiyr/


Soutenance
20/06/2019 14h30
Dylan POMMIER from Oliet's lab will give a presentation entitled "L’astrocyte, intégrateur et régulateur de l’activité synaptique excitatrice dans des conditions physiologiques et pathologiques"

from Oliet's lab will give a presentation entitled "L’astrocyte, intégrateur et régulateur de l’activité synaptique excitatrice dans des conditions physiologiques et pathologiques"
Date de la soutenance: 20/06/2019 - 14h30
Lieu: Neurocentre Magendie Seminar room


Hottopic
24/04/2019 10h00
Julien BOUREL from Oliet's lab will give a presentation entitled " "Role of the complement component C3 in memory deficits at the early stage of experimental multiple sclerosis"

Info Générale
30/03/2019
Le Neurocentre soutient l'action FRC - Espoir en tête

Stéphane Oliet était avec les bénévoles de la FRC et du Rotary le 31 mars à St Médard en Jalles devant plus de 330 spectateurs venu assister à la projection de Dumbo au cinéma l’Étoile.

Sur la photo : la Présidente du Rotary St Médard en Jalle, Barbara Atkinson, Monsieur Augé (1er adjoint au Maire de St Médard), Monsieur Oliet (Directeur du Neurocentre Magendie), Monsieur Archimbaud (délégué régional de la FRC et rotarien) et Monsieur Lagardère (Directeur du cinéma l’Étoile).

Cette séance exceptionnelle restera dans nos cœurs, avec un Dumbo touchant et courageux, qui aura volé pour la recherche sur le cerveau !




Info Générale
15/03/2019
Visite de M. Bloch, PDG de l'Inserm

Le nouveau PDG de l'Inserm a passé la journée à Bordeaux et a notamment visité le laboratoire et assisté à une présentation de Stéphane Oliet.




Info Générale
10/12/2018
Promotion !

Félicitations à Claire Leger (équipe Oliet) qui obtient sa promotion au grade TS de l'Université de Bordeaux.




Hottopic
28/11/2018 10h30
Marco MATOS from Oliet's lab will give a presentation entitled "Apolipoprotein E -ε4 in the development of synaptic impairment in Alzheimer's disease."

Hottopic
31/10/2018 10h15
Mark SHERWOOD from Oliet's lab will give a presentation entitled "Contribution of IP3R isoforms to astrocytic Ca2+ signaling and hippocampal long-term potentiation."