Pr├ęsentation Plateforme Chimie analytique


Objectives


The Analytical Chemistry Platform (PCA) provides a support in analytical chemistry mainly through chromatography and mass spectrometry. This platform, unique in France, provides a range of state-of-the-art knowledge and equipment allowing the development of any project in Neurosciences involving cannabinoids, neurosteroids and some neurotransmitters such as the glutamate and GABA. These analyses can be performed within the scope of the department research projects, with outside partners or as services.


The Analytical Chemistry Platform, located at the ground floor of Magendie Neurocentre, includes two independent laboratories, a chemistry laboratory for sample preparation and an analysis laboratory equipped with instruments for the quantitative determination of analysed compounds.

inserm
inserm
inserm

Chromatograms examples obtained for the analysis of endocannabinoids, neurosteroids and neurotransmitters (from left to right).


Chemistry laboratory: sample preparation


This laboratory is equipped with the whole experimental device necessary for the preparation of samples to be analyzed such as a tissue lyser, an ultrason homogenizer, two hoods with heating evaporators under nitrogen flow, a device of solid-phase extraction (SPE), an analytical balance and a cooled centrifuge.
The chemistry laboratory is dedicated to extraction and purification of analysed compounds. The extraction procedures developed, liquid-liquid for endocannabinoids, solid phase for neurosteroids, protein precipitation for neurotransmitters, allow the separation of the compounds from biological matrices (brain, peripheral tissues, plasma) on the basis of their chemical or physical properties.

Analysis laboratory: sample analysis


This laboratory is equipped with the state of the art chromatography and mass spectrometry equipment:

º A liquid chromatography triple quadrupole mass spectrometer LCMSMS TSQ Quantum Access (ThermoFisher) allowing high sensitive, selective and specific cannabinoids quantification.

º A gas chromatography mass spectrometer GCMS-QP2010 (Schimadzu) allowing a high sensitive, specific and selective quantification of neurosteroids.

º A gas chromatography mass triple spectrometer GCMSMS-XLS Ultra (ThermoFisher) providing a higher sensitive, specific and selective quantification of a large spectrum of neurosteroids.

º A Capillary Electrophoresis (P/ACE MDQ, Beckman Coulter) coupled to a laser (410 nm)-induced fluorescence detector (ZETALIF Discovery, Picometrics) allowing high sensitive quantification of neurotransmitters and amino acids.


inserm
inserm
inserm
inserm


Team members


inserm
Ilaria Belluomo
Research assistant
Isabelle Matias
Head of the platform

Neurocentre Magendie


Objectifs


La Plateforme de Chimie Analytique propose des méthodes de quantifications de biomolécules grâce à des équipements performants en spectrométrie de masse couplée à toute forme de chromatographies. Cette plateforme, unique en France, met à disposition des compétences méthodologiques pour tout projet en Neurosciences dont le domaine d'application concerne les cannabinoïdes, les neurostéroïdes et certains neurotransmetteurs comme le glutamate et la GABA. Ces analyses peuvent être effectuées dans le cadre des projets de recherche du Neurocentre, avec des partenaires extérieurs ou comme une prestation de service.


La Plateforme de Chimie Analytique, localisée au rez-de-chaussée du Neurocentre Magendie, est composée de deux laboratoires indépendants, un laboratoire de chimie pour la préparation des échantillons et un laboratoire pour leur analyse.

inserm
inserm
inserm

Exemples de chromatogrammes obtenus pour l'analyse d'endocannabinoïdes, de neurostéroïdes et de neurotransmetteurs (de gauche à droite).


Le laboratoire de chimie : Préparation des échantillons


Ce laboratoire est équipé de l'ensemble du dispositif expérimental nécessaire à la préparation des échantillons à analyser tel qu'un lyseur de tissu, un homogénisateur à ultrasons, deux sorbonnes avec deux évaporateurs chauffants sous flux d'azote, un dispositif d'extraction sur phase solide, une balance analytique de précision et une centrifugeuse réfrigérée de paillasse.
Ce laboratoire permet d'extraire et de purifier les composés à analyser. Les techniques d'extractions développées (liquide-liquide pour les endocannabinoïdes, en phase solide pour les stéroïdes et par précipitations des protéines pour les neurotransmetteurs) permettent de séparer sélectivement un ou plusieurs composés d'un échantillon biologique (tissu cérébral, tissus périphériques, plasma, salive) sur la base de leurs propriétés chimiques ou physiques.

Le laboratoire d'analyse : Analyse des échantillons


Ce laboratoire est équipé d'appareils de haute technologie dans le domaine de la chromatographie et de la spectrométrie de masse :

º Un spectromètre de masse triple quadrupole couplé à la chromatographie liquide LC-MSMS TSQ Quantum Access (ThermoFisher) permettant la quantification sélective et spécifique des cannabinoïdes.

º Un spectromètre de masse simple quadrupole couplé à la chromatographie gazeuse GCMS-QP2010 (Schimadzu) permettant la quantification spécifique, sélective et avec une grande sensibilité des neurostéroïdes.

º Un spectromètre de masse triple quadrupole couplé à la chromatographie gazeuse GCMSMS-XLS Ultra (ThermoFisher) permettant la quantification spécifique et sélective dÂ’un large spectre de neurostéroïdes avec une meilleure sensibilité.

º Une électrophorèse capillaire P/ACE MDQ (Beckman Coulter) équipée d'un détecteur de fluorescence induite par laser ZETALIF (Discovery, Picometrics) pour la mesure à très haute résolution de divers neurotransmetteurs et acides aminés.


inserm
inserm
inserm
inserm


Les membres de l'équipe


inserm
Ilaria Belluomo
Assistant ingénieur
Isabelle Matias
Responsable de la plateforme